About Us

The Department of Political Science and International Relations began with the commencement of the University in 2002. It was then known as the Department of Strategic Studies. It metamorphosed into the Department of Policy and Strategic Studies in the 2005/2006 Academic Session. During the 2007/2008 Academic Session, the Department was split into two, namely: the Department of Political Science and the Department of International Relations and Strategic Studies. However, during the 2008/2009 Academic Session, the two Departments were merged and became what is currently known as the Department of Political Science and International Relations.

The Pioneer Head of Department  in 2002 was Dr. John A. Ayam , but briefly in 2004 Professor Adewoye was appointed as acting Head of Department for a semester before handing over to Dr. John A. Ayam again who led the Department till 2005 when Prof. Olusola Ojo took over as Head of Department. In 2006, Professor Matthew Ola-Rotimi Ajayi, became Head and remained Head until 2008 when Professors Daniel Omoweh and Olusola Ojo were appointed to head the newly created Departments of International Relations and Strategic Studies and Political Science respectively. Following the merger of the two Departments in 2009, Professor Matthew Ola–Rotimi Ajayi was again appointed to oversee the new Department. In 2010, Professor Kayode Soremekun was appointed Head while he also served as the Dean of the College of Development Studies. On October 16, 2012, Dr. Sheriff Folarin was appointed acting Head of the Department. In August, 2014 Dr. Moses Duruji was appointed acting Head of the Department.

The Department began with a student population of 20 and academic staff of 6 in 2003. Today, there is a marked increase with over 400 students spread across the three fully accredited Programmes of Political Science, International Relations and Policy and Strategic Studies.

In the same vein, the Academic Staff strength has improved tremendously. It rose from 6 at inception to 25 in the 2013/2014 Academic Session.

The Department currently offers three different Bachelor of Science Degree Programmes, namely:

  1.  B Sc International Relations
  2.  B Sc Political Science
  3.  B Sc Policy and Strategic Studies

The Political Science Degree Programme offers courses in key areas of Political Economy, Public Administration, Comparative Politics, Federalism, Nigerian Politics and Civil-Military Relations, among others. In International Relations, such courses as Theories of International Relations, International Politics, International Economic Relations, Theories of War and Peace, International Peace Keeping, Nigerian Foreign Policy, International Institutions, Political Economy, among other courses, are offered. For Policy and Strategic Studies, the modules centre on core issues of Leadership, Governance, Ethics, Management, Accountability and Development. The programme also addresses the key areas of Wars, Conflicts and Global Terrorism. At the 100 and 200 Levels, which are the foundational levels, students on the three programmes take the same courses so as to effectively acquire the skills and method of the study of Politics, which is the mother course of all the three disciplines.

The Department of Political Science and International Relations is committed to the overall University goal of becoming a world class institution focused on raising a new generation of leaders.

Our Programmes are centred on the core issues of development, specifically the need to liberate the Black race from all vestiges of social, economic and political underdevelopment and to take the lead in the quest for African renaisance. Currently, we are driven by the principles of ‘ Distinction, Relevance and Visibility” (D.R.V).

The underlying philosophy of the Programmes in the Department of Political Science and International Relations is that of producing competent and confident graduates whose minds are well developed and who are intellectually sound in the various sub-fields of Policy and Strategic Studies, Political Science and International Relations and Public Administration; and who can make meaningful contributions to the political and socio-economic development of Nigeria, Africa and indeed the entire world.

The Objectives of the Department of Political Science and International Relations are to:

i)                   provide a sound knowledge of concepts, theories and issues in the various disciplines of the Department, namely, Policy and Strategic Studies, Political Science and International Relations;

ii)                provide the knowledge and skills needed for the understanding and analysis of political, social and economic activities  at both national  and international levels;

iii)              contribute through research to theoretical development in the various disciplines and provide policy-oriented solutions to the challenges of governance at both the national and international levels; and

iv)               produce versatile graduates who can meet the challenges of self-employment as well as employees of private and public institutions/establishments.

The Programmes in the Department are designed to give students a firm academic and professional grasp in their area of study, and to afford them a broad intellectual background in their discipline. These areas of academic discipline will go a long way in equipping the students to scientifically appraise problems affecting society as well as offer appropriate solutions to them.